Green Lungs of London Part I


 

One of the many things I envied the Londoners is their impressive green areas distributed around the cosmopolitan. From the Far East where I live in, I have long heard about the famous parks in London, for instance the Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. I don’t know who actually first coined the terms “Lungs of London” to describe the vast amount of city gardens and parks, but I sincerely agree that it is a most appropriate description during my five-day stay in London. Having a stroll in the park is one of the most relaxing experiences I ever had, enjoying the fresh air, the captivating scenery of trees, birds, flowers and water… I don’t even miss the sunshine which this city seemed to lack.

Hyde Park

It was not my first visit to London but it was my first time visiting the Hyde Park. It is so large and beautiful! On the tourist map you can find a handful of highlights worthwhile to visit, however, it is simply impossible to enjoy the whole Park in one single day. On my arrival at the Park, I was amazed by the young people on horses traveling on a narrow path. Indeed, we rarely see people riding horses in the parks in Hong Kong, but sometimes only riding bicycles, perhaps.


 
 

The Serpentine

We then follow the footpath along the Serpentine. The Serpentine is the lake in Hyde Park created in 1730. On the lake, the Serpentine Bridge (pictured below) runs over it, and to the West of the bridge the land is known as the Kensington Gardens, which is continuous with the Hyde Park. Rowing boats were available for hire, if you are interested about boating on the lake. We were attracted by the different species of waterfowls in the lake, including white swans and Rouen ducks.



 

Princess Diana Memorial Fountain

Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fountain was located just over the southwest shore of the Serpentine. It was opened in 2004 in memory of the Princess. Interestingly, it is not a fountain in the traditional sense, but a running stream of water which flows along two great arcs of a circle to join together in the other end. The water cascades and flows down the slope, swirling and bubbling along the way, which is to reflect Diana’s life, quality and openness.

 
 
 

Royal Albert Hall

Just opposite Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall was synonymous with music and entertainment. You can also see the Albert Memorial in the following pictures. It was commissioned by Queen Victoria in memory of her beloved husband, Prince Albert who died of typhoid in 1861.

 

I hope you enjoyed the pictures despite the boring weather! This is the end of Part I. Follow this link to Part II – for more on the Regent’s Park and St. James’s Park.

The full gallery:

