101th post and 2 awards


DSC01260

This s the 101th blog post and we’re happy to be still blogging after 1 year and 3 months. First I would like to thank my dear readers who frequently visit this site; and if you’re here the first time, welcome! Secondly, I wish to thank my dear White Bear, who has continually supported me through my photographic endeavors, hiking with me and laughing with me, and being there with me through the stressful times. Most of the gear I didn’t buy myself, so I have benefited immensely from her wallet! (or purse?)

And this one year and three months is a period of growth. For me, it is a photographic journey, from owning my first mirrorless camera, the Sony NEX-3 with the kit lens to getting more lens (second handed and new ones) and then upgrading to Sony NEX-6 this year. Not long ago, on my wishlist there were a wide-angle, a portrait lens, a long zoom, and a macro lens; I am lucky to have them all now.

And growth is also a personal one. After four years and five months of starting our relationship, White Bear and I are getting married early next year. Young as we are, there are differences between us, and conflicts that need to be ironed out, and I truly appreciate that my future wife has always respected my wishes and understood me better than myself. And so, fortunately we had fewer arguments than we thought we would have had. I wish to start a new life together with her, and one of understanding and love, and there would not be a day without her, in happiness and even more so in sadness. I think there are two bible verses that I would like to share:

Better is one day in your courts
than a thousand elsewhere;
I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God
than dwell in the tents of the wicked.

and:

Two are better than one,
because they have a good return for their labor:
If either of them falls down,
one can help the other up.
But pity anyone who falls
and has no one to help them up.

Thanks to you, my dear readers, that we have recently been nominated for two awards!

The first one is from Samina, and she has kindly given me a Very Inspiring Blogger Award. We are very honored to have inspired someone in the world.

And the second one is the Super Sweet Blogger Award from Geraldine. Thank you so much! It moves me to post more sweet posts!

To accept the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, we have to post 7 things about ourselves and nominate 15 other bloggers. To accept the Super Sweet Blogger Award, we have to answer 5 super sweet questions and nominate 13 other bloggers (bakers’ dozen).

7 things about ourselves

  1. We like to sleep in on the weekends
  2. During other times in holidays, we love to hike and take photos
  3. White bear is the laziest person on Earth
  4. Black bear loves detective novels, and his favorite author is Agatha Christie
  5. Our favorite color is blue
  6. We plan to have our honeymoon in New Zealand
  7. … Read “about” for more 🙂

5 super sweet questions

  1. Cookies or Cake?   Cake
  2. Chocolate or Vanilla?   Chocolate
  3. Favorite Sweet Treat?   Orange Souffle
  4. When Do You Crave Sweet Things The Most?   Weekends and at night          
  5. Sweet Nick Name?   Honey!

Our nominations for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award (I enjoy reading their posts and their words and images have special power):

Nominations for the Super Sweet Blogger Award (they all feature amazing imagery and beautiful content; I am so happy to have stumbled upon their blogs in the first place):

Thanks everyone from around the world!

map1