Treasury Gardens


The Old Treasury Building on Spring Street in Melbourne, was once home to the Treasury Department of the Government of Victoria, but is now a museum of Melbourne history, known as the Old Treasury Building. On this beautiful sunny day, I decided to visit the Treasury Gardens, a patch of green open space just behind the remarkable building.

DSC00862

I love how the sun shone through the leaves on the first photo. The sun-star produced from my beloved Voigtlander VM 15mm is eight-spoked. For a Chinese like me, the number 8 conveys a “lucky” charm.

DSC00865

I sat in the park, and watched nature worked its wonders. As autumn came, leaves turn yellow, and they undergo a magical transformation into gold under the sunlight. The silvery plant blended well with the green grassland. What a gorgeous mixture of hues!

DSC00868

The brick house on the right is a toilet. I bet it’s one of the most beautiful toilets in the world. =)

DSC00874

After two days in Melbourne I have grown accustomed to strolling in the shadows of tall trees full of green leaves. In the parks back home, our trees are scattered and have long lost their grandeur. How I miss the smell of grass!

DSC00978

